Race Day!

The Mission Bay Triathlon was a success this morning! One of my favorite parts about racing, is the pre-race excitement in the dark! It’s the best people watching. The moon was really pretty this morning too.

IMG_0476The race went pretty well for me! I took 9 minutes off of my PR! That’s once nice thing about a triathlon, is there are several areas that you can shave off time (the three obvious, swim, bike, run and then transitions). The bike felt good, but it was really windy. I felt a little sluggish on the 5K run, but I still had a great time!

Mission Bay 2007

Mission Bay 2007

Mission Bay 2009

Mission Bay 2009 - Lighter and Faster

My dad is the one who inspired me to do triathlons! You can tell we have both lost weight, and we’ve both gotten faster! Our pre-race meal was 1/2 WW bagel with peanut butter, with some banana later down the road. Our post-race meal was a little bit more greasy. Neither of us were hungry right after the race (9/1oam) and then when we got hungry we wanted mexican food!

Chicken Fajitas

Chicken Fajitas

This was taken AFTER I made my fajita. The order was huge, and even my post-triathlon stomach couldn’t take all of it. I did take out all of the veggies though! Here are a couple more fun pictures:

IMG_0480

I couldn't get my wetsuit off!

I couldn't get my wetsuit off!

Finish Line

Finish Line

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Race Day!

  1. Hi Sarah! Thanks for stopping by my blog!!
    Congratulations on your triathlon PR!! I have been wanting to get into triathlons, but to be honest I’m a bit scared…How long have you been competing??

Leave a Reply

